I’m a Writer


My decision to go graduate school was motivated by my belief that I was a writer. I believed that I had the talent and the passion to pursue the craft. I didn’t believe Grad school was necessary for me know I was a writer. However, by the end of my first residency I realized I was NOT a writer. For all the years I had spent writing, reading, studying the craft of writing, and pursuing publishing, I was not a writer.

Like most writers, I am happiest when I am in the company of other writers talking about writing. Whether it’s with my critique group or  through JWKC (now MWCAG) I rely on the interaction with other writers to keep me moving forward in my path to publication. We talk about the the pitfalls (rejections) and the triumphs (sales). We talk about those things only other writers understand.

Now, that makes me a writer.

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “I’m a Writer

  1. Marsha Lytle

    Way to go, Dawn. You are setting an example for all of us.

  2. Hi, Dawn! Welcome to the Blogosphere. Feel free to check out mine when you have time. 🙂

Leave a Reply

