Back to Business


Back from the writer’s conference. We rode a high for several days thanks to requests for manuscripts from an agent (Tasha) and an editor (me) and a contest win for Marsha. However, there is only so long that we can dwell in either successes or failures before we need to move ahead. When we got to group tonight, we took care of the accounting of our trip – business expenses are tax deductible – and discussed our wins and then, made plans for the future. I have to prep my submission so I will be spending  time editing my manuscript for the first time post-MFA. I’m excited to see what kind of a difference that will make.

The school year is ending and there is more stress than usual associated with that, but I look forward to that ending so I can focus full time on my writing. I’m setting up office hours, work out times, etc. so that I can maximize my efficiency. A writer’s conference can not only rejuvenate us, but it also reminds us that this is a business. We need to approach it with that at the forefront of our minds. It certainly gave us that this year. We enjoyed it so much that we hope to attend again next year.

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “Back to Business

  1. summer is almost here – hang in there.

Leave a Reply

