Grief


Trouble always comes ‘in a crowd’, and my week was evidence of that. Multiple family members were sick, and my father after many weeks of tests got bad news. Helping he and my mother adjust to a new reality was hard on all of us. Then, Wednesday night our sweet dog, Moses, became ill. We rushed him to the vet, but the news was horrid. A massive stroke had paralyzed him. At two in the morning we said our final good-byes and let him go.

When I called our boys (they live in another state) to deliver the latest round of bad news, it was too much for all of us. We sat and cried together over the phone.

Not to mention a host of smaller bits of life’s down turns, it was a week we all wanted to see end. 

When it comes to human emotions, there are certain ones that we all understand, we all GET. Grief is one of those universal emotions that transcends race, faith, culture, borders, boundaries, or anything else that separates us. It is a common theme in literature, film, and art. As I experienced last week, with all its upheaval, one tiny rainbow appeared. A short story written second semester of my grad program – which I was never able to finish – suddenly became clear. I’d halted on it because I couldn’t “find” the core of it. In my week of grief, it found me. Now, I can finish it. Grief has written it for me.

Has life ever helped you finish a piece you were stuck on? How did it work for you?

4 Comments

Filed under Writing

4 responses to “Grief

  1. I think as writers we are constantly absorbing & observing our environment and using those experiences to improve our work.

  2. gk

    (HUGS) I always use life’s experiences in my writing. By writing about it, I end up learning and understanding it much better. It tends to heal my heart.

  3. Sorry for your loss and the crowd of trouble that surrounds you for now.

    There are lessons to be learned in adversity and I guess that is what is called “life!” So yes, I have been helped in my writing many a times.

    More often, sleep is my best ally. I awake with answers, insights and clarity to solve problems from days, weeks, and even months before. For this reason, the best moments of writing for me are the first few hours of the morning.

    • dawnall

      I agree. Dark times are those times which teach us the most. It’s just not the most enjoyable learning experience. 🙂

Leave a Reply

