We have a winner!


We have a winner of the First Pages contest! My apologies for the slight delay but my personal life took a fictional style turn with illnesses and my oldest son getting stabbed on the job.

I’d like to thank all the entrants for their patience during this delay and their bravery in entering the contest. Prior to judging by my writer’s group, Novel Clique, writer’s names were removed. The entries were wonderful to read, and the variety made the reading fun. We all agreed on the merits of the winner.

Congratulations to Jennifer McMurrain. Here’s her entry:

Love at Quail Crossings

By Jennifer McMurrain

Chapter 1

August 1934

“Norman, I’m in no mood for your nonsense. I need to milk the cows.” Dovie Grant stared at the large, grey goose guarding the old barn.

Norman raised his wings and released a loud hiss. Dovie knew if she took another step the goose would start biting and, having left her broom by the house, she had no way to defend herself.

“You’re a plum evil goose. Little Charles Garber needs that milk and, just like in the Bible, good will prevail.” She shook her finger at the bird. “You better watch out or you’ll be Thanksgivin’ dinner!”

Distracting the animal was the only way to get her chores done. Knowing Norman was notorious for biting people on their backsides. She turned her butt to the beast and bent over. She only hoped she was quick enough to spin around and catch the animal by the neck before he could bite her rear.

Dovie peeked under her right arm to stare at the goose. Norman gazed at the tempting rump.

“Hurry up, you big oaf. I’m startin’ to get a cramp.” Dovie swayed back and forth, trying to make her backend look more appealing.

Norman tucked in his wings and stretched his neck to the right, watching to see if she was bluffing. When Dovie didn’t move, he took his opportunity and tottered toward his target.

5 Comments

Filed under Writing

5 responses to “We have a winner!

  1. Congrats to Jennifer. It definitely peaks my interest.

  2. Congrats to the winner!

    And I hope your son is ok! That’s crazy!

    • dawnall

      Thanks! The surgeon cleared him today. He will have physical therapy and return to work on Monday. They remove his sutures on Tuesday. It’s been a wild ride.

      Dawn “Don’t tell me the moon is shining; show me the glint of light on broken glass.” ~Anton Chekhov

  3. Congrats to Jennifer! And I hope your son is doing okay!

    • dawnall

      Thanks! He is getting a forced week of rest. I think this is a good thing. He works hard.

      Dawn “Don’t tell me the moon is shining; show me the glint of light on broken glass.” ~Anton Chekhov

Leave a Reply

