The Drought


My adult novel went before an agent for the first time this weekend. The Drought of Sam Dakota had placed in a contest this spring, but I had not pitched it before. The result amazed me. Industry insiders say that it is essential to find an agent who is excited by our work. This agent blew me away. Not only was she complimentary regarding my writing and my novel, but she talked career strategy. She had me seeing my work with a fresh eye because of her enthusiasm. Now, I’m headed into a fresh round of tweaks before I submit the manuscript to her. Even better, I’m headed into it with a new level of excitement.

Does good news from an industry professional give you new insights?

15 Comments

Filed under Writing

15 responses to “The Drought

  1. Paula Ehrhardt

    Congrats! I can’t wait to hear how the rest of your writing journey goes. See? I told you, you were good(:

  2. Congratulations!! That’s great news! I can’t comment on opinions from industry professionals because I’ve never had any, but I can imagine it would certainly renew my enthusiasm for the work 🙂

    • dawnall

      I’m jazzed. Sam is special to me so I’ve held onto him longer than I probably should have. I’m glad he’s out there now. And loved. 🙂

    • dawnall

      Let me know when it happens. It’s interesting especially if you aren’t expecting it.

  3. I can’t wait to read more SAM….after I buy it off the shelf!!!!! WOOHOO. I’m so happy for you Dawn. No matter what happens I know this is the beginning of amazing things.

    • dawnall

      Thanks! My mom is thrilled. I left her hanging with Sam mid way through the crisis. She’s been waiting to hear what happens. 🙂

  4. Ellen

    Setting an example beyond the classroom—why our kids know a good teacher when they have one. You didn’t waste any time deciding what to do post-teaching. We are very proud of you.

  5. This is great! I love good news.

  6. Excellent news!! Congrats.

Leave a Reply

