NaNoWriMo


NaNoWriMo Participant

My critique group has not been able to participate as a whole in this for a host of reasons. A couple of us were full-time educators and the fall of the year was the worst possible time for us to devote any time outside our classrooms to anything other than work. One year we decided we would hold our own version of it in January when things were less crazy for us. It went well. Several of us are shopping the results of that now. So, it’s exciting to participate for real this year.

Exciting. And terrifying. Now, there is real pressure. It is stunningly real to me that beginning tomorrow, I am offline for 30 days. Nothing else will get the work done. So long, Facebook. Sayonara Twitter. Arrivederci WordPress Blog. OMG! Adios to email…well, I might need to check that, at least every other day. Man.

Buon giorno to my butt in the chair, my fingers on the keyboard. A greeting to my new friends in the novel about be created. Wow! The terror isn’t abating. Deep breaths. I can do this. I can do this.

Fellow participants, what do you do when panic knocks on the door?

9 Comments

Filed under Writing

9 responses to “NaNoWriMo

  1. please say you’re joking – no social networks for a month no one told me that!!! wouldn’t have signed up if I’d known – all the best in the nano madness – I’m joining in for 1st time – not scared just excited

  2. You’re probably better disciplined than me. One minute on FB becomes an hour…you know the drill. I just have to stay clear and get the work done.

  3. Wine and chocolate, Dawn. It’s the only answer! I’m headed for my supply right now. Then I’m going to sit at my kitchen island and frown like an intellectual while I attempt to identify the plot points of my undeveloped novel. This could take a while. 🙂

    • Absolutely! We’ve had a couple of NaNo sessions at my house and the table was covered with chocolate. 🙂 I waited on the wine until I was done. Otherwise, I’d have curled up and gone to sleep.

  4. I’m out this year–I have revisions to do…bleah!

    Good luck and see you in 30 days with a new baby!

  5. never underestimate the power of brownies.

  6. Or any form of chocolate. And support groups. Those are big, too!

Leave a Reply

