GUTGAA Meet and Greet


Β  This week begins Gearing up to Get an Agent Blogfest. Thanks to Deana Barnhart for organizing the event for everyone. This is Meet and Greet Week so a bit about me. I write YA science fiction and adult mysteries. My day job is college professor, and I earned my writing degree from the University of Nebraska. My critique partners, Natasha Hanova and Leatrice McKinney, have both had success this year landing a book with a small publisher and an agent respectively. I’ll be pitching my YA, THE G.A.P. PROJECT, in the Pitchfest.

Questions:

Where do you write: We recently moved and I’m in transition so wherever I can find a place. Sometimes in my office at the college, sometimes in the living room at my sister-in-law’s house. Even at our ranch while watching the horses play is a good writing place. I’ve been known to sit in my car at the park on a mild day. All I need is paper and pen or my lap top and I can go.

Favorite time to write: I actually don’t have one. Sometimes I write during the day, sometimes at night. I write when I can shove writing time into my day.

Drink of choice while writing: Boring….I’m a tea person. I drink a lot of it.

When you write do you use music or do you need complete silence? I have specific music for each of my main characters so when I write those characters, I use their music. In my adult mystery, Rami Amato, the Native Samoan detective, is a huge Patsy Cline fan. Sam Dakota, the lawyer, is a jazz fan. Listening to their music, keeps me in their heads when I’m writing.

What was your inspiration for your latest manuscript and where did you find it? A Native American male I saw in my QuikTrip inspired The Drought of Sam Dakota. He was there with a small boy and he fascinated me. My grandmother is NA and I envisioned an ancestor who looked as this man did. Moreover, the interaction with he and the boy was sweet. Okay, the fact that he was incredibly hot, caught my attention, also. Next thing I knew, Sam Dakota lawyer/child advocate was born.

Writing tip: There are so many tips out there that I’m not sure I can add anything new to the mix. There are so many wonderful books. Definitely, Stephen King’s On Writing, and The First Five Pages by Noah Lukeman. However, one of the best for breaking down the art of craft into master’s level lessons for me is Writing Fiction: A Guide to Narrative Craft by Janet Burroway.

Looking forward to meeting more GUTGAA bloggers!

17 Comments

Filed under Writing

17 responses to “GUTGAA Meet and Greet

  1. I’m so glad we’re doing GUTGAA together, Dawn! I’ve been following your blog since the first Write Campaign I joined, and it’s always been a pleasure to read about your journey πŸ™‚ Good luck with the agents and publishers – I’ll be rooting for you!

  2. Nice to meet you! I am someone who writes whenever I get the chance to fit writing into my daily life too. It’s not always easy, but it’s a priority.

  3. Well I’m intrigued — you had me at Sam Dakota lawyer/child advocate. Okay, you had me at “hot.”

  4. It’s nice to meet you! Writing in a busy life is hard – but I have to say, writing while you watch your horses play sounds amazing!

  5. Awesome blog, Dawn! I don’t think tea is boring. There’s nothing more soothing than a steaming cup of a good brew. Nice to meet you!

  6. I love that you “listen” in character. It sounds like a great way to keep them separated in your head. Good luck with your move, and your new place. Fingers crossed for you, for the perfect writing nook. πŸ˜€

  7. Pleased to meet another GUTGAA-er. Thanks for your book recommendations, I’ll have to check them out. Looking forward to following your blog. πŸ™‚
    Kat (http://beyondthehourglassbridge.blogspot.com.au)

  8. Thanks for visiting my blog yesterday! I too am a tea person…I don’t find that boring at all. It’s great that you can write during the day and at night, such versatility!

  9. Thanks for stopping by my blog! I think this is really funny – my male protagonist in my ms Unquiet Souls is part Abenaki, his name is Sam, and he has a soft spot for Patsy Cline. Hehehe. I love horses too (used to have one when I was in high school, but haven’t actually ridden one since college). One of my daughters rides so I get my horsey “fix” during her lessons. Good luck with your pitch!

  10. Rachel 'Conway' Schieffelbein

    I love that your characters each have their own music! What a cool idea. πŸ™‚

  11. The story of Sam’s creation never. gets. old. Love him! xoxo

  12. I’ve read On Writing, but not the other two, so will have to look into those. I’ve been wanting to read On Writing again, though, because I read it when it first came out and then had a long lapse in writing. Thanks for stopping by!

    Shannon at The Warrior Muse, visiting my fellow GUTGAA participants!

Leave a Reply

