It’s a Wonderful Life, In Our Time


I wonder what the younger me would think if I could travel back in time and tell her about the long journey she would have to publication.  A lot is out of our control in this path we walk as writers, but I made decisions along my journey that slowed my path to publication. I don’t regret those decisions. As much as writing consumes my every waking moment, it is not my entire life. I had children, a spouse, family, friends, and a full-time job. I’ve had to keep a delicate balance between my day job, family, and writing.

Some people are able to sprint to the finish line in their writing careers, and it works well for them. I knew myself well enough to know this was something I would have to take my time on. With a lifetime career as my goal, I wanted to focus on taking my time and ‘doing it right’ as my parents taught me. I’m happy that I published right out of grad school, but since then I’ve focused on my novels, and it has slowed my publication journey down. I remind myself daily that I am not here to sprint but to pace myself.

The thing is I know myself well enough to know that I’ll never reach the end of that marathon until my days on earth end. I will always be seeking a new story, new characters, a new genre, or a new medium to break into. It’s in my nature. I have no desire to quit. As long as I’m still running, the race isn’t over for me or my characters.

How do you see your writing journey? A marathon? A sprint? A roller coaster ride?

4 Comments

Filed under Writing

4 responses to “It’s a Wonderful Life, In Our Time

  1. Slow but sure. Steady as she goes.

  2. dawnall

    Exactly. It never fails to get us where we need to go eventually.

  3. My writing journey is just one foot in front of the other and try to get where you want to go but be open to the journey and adventure

    • dawnall

      Definitely one foot in front of the other is good. What’s the expression? Slow and steady wins the race.

Leave a Reply

