NaNoWriMo – Good Luck to All


Writers across the net are gearing up for the annual writing fest known as National Novel Writing Month in which the goal is to complete a novel of 50,000 words in 30 days. It’s an amazing journey undertaken by many every year. Last year our writer’s group got involved for the first time, officially. (We’d done our own version during a less busy time of the year) For me, it is a one-time experience. I loved doing and being able to say I produced 50,000 words in 30 days but frankly, they were worth little, and I developed some horrid habits in my need to reach the word count. Passive structure provides a higher word count…just saying.

People participate every year successfully so this is definitely a good event but like everything, it isn’t for everyone. The process for writers differs and some of us cannot survive under the pressure cooker of NaNoWriMo. I wrote my YA in six weeks. It wasn’t perfect, but it had a solid plot. What I wrote in 30 days was a mess, wandering all over the place because I didn’t have time to stop and assess it. Like most people, I had a job and a family. I also had a sick father so maybe my mind didn’t cope with that 30 day game as well. At any rate, I’m excited for the people participating this year. It is a great feeling to meet that deadline and receive that, “You did it!”

Good luck to all!

1 Comment

Filed under Writing

One response to “NaNoWriMo – Good Luck to All

  1. Pingback: Getting into gear | Zara ~ a writing story

Leave a Reply

