Fear Served up with a Dose of Insecurity


InsecureWritersSupportGroup

Purpose: To share and encourage. Writers can express doubts and concerns without fear of appearing foolish or weak. Those who have been through the fire can offer assistance and guidance. It’s a safe haven for insecure writers of all kinds! (Our Twitter hashtag is #IWSG)

Alex J. Cavanaugh’s awesome co-hosts for the March 6 posting of the IWSG are Misha Gericke and Joylene Nowell Butler!

Like most artistic folks, I have my share of insecurities, and they take turns battering me. Lately, it’s been that horrid saying, “Those who can, do and those who can’t, teach.” I’ve never believed it. However, I have worked with a lot of writers and watched them go on to success while I still wait on the agent trail. So, I sit down to write and waste precious time wondering if I’m ‘only’ meant to help talented people get a break. Maybe I’m not skilled enough. This is particularly distressing after a graduate degree in creative writing. After busting my buns year after year to improve my craft. This is the fear knocking at my writing door. It’s finding a willing participant in my insecurity.

Let’s face it, this is a business that plays to our insecurities. Rejections, anyone? Tell me, what are you insecure about?

8 Comments

Filed under Writing

8 responses to “Fear Served up with a Dose of Insecurity

  1. Take it as your suffering now is so people like me can relate and not feel alone. Also for you to be fortified that you are not alone. Try thinking that your writing is so unique that agents don’t see the preset market for it and therefore do not wish to take the risk. You’ve got to find that agent who’s worth his/her weight in balls to take your talent on…which will undoubtedly touch many people when they get the chance to read your work.

  2. “If” can be a dangerous word. You have to believe in yourself and your ability. I know you can do it!

  3. Karen Welch

    My insecurity runs more along the lines of “what if,” as in what if people stop buying and reading my books, or what if the reader’s who’ve said such nice things are just in the habit of saying nice things? I need a constant flow of reinforcement or, as my husband told me just this morning, I’m riding that roller coaster of self-doubt. Natasha’s right, we have to believe in ourselves and our work, no matter who else does or doesn’t.

  4. cluculzwriter

    Dawn, don’t be dismayed. I’m hesitant to tell you even a snip of my history for fear I’ll discourage you further. I wrote for 25 years before I was finally published. I used to drop to my knees and beg God to make it happen. I didn’t think I’d survive if it didn’t. I published my first book in 008. I have 3 published now and I’m happy, but I realize it doesn’t fill the void and never will.

    Trust that it will happen. Promise yourself that while you wait you will live life to the fullest. It’ll go by fast enough on its own.

    Thank you for the thought provoking post. Happy IWSG.

Leave a Reply

