Top Ten Movie Countdown Blogfest


TOPTENMOVIE

Alex J. Cavanaugh is hosting a blogfest on movies. Now anyone who knows me, knows I have a lifelong love affair with film. My oldest son majored in film, giving me excuses to discuss movies for the rest of my life. Yeah! The point of this was to determine your top ten. I thought, no problem, but I worked on it for over a month, and the list got longer instead of shorter. Narrowing it down was problematic; some of them broke new ground, some trampled old ground in a new way, some merely thematically scored my life.

Some hold a place of sentiment from a place in my past, some are mere candy after a diet, some are heavy fare which kept me thinking and discussing for months. Where should I draw the line? Argh! What I thought would be easy and fun has been painful and illuminating. Here are the final ten:

My Top Ten Movies

  1. The Sixth Sense
  2. Oliver
  3. One Tin Soldier: The Legend of Billy Jack
  4. Back to the Future
  5. Die Hard
  6. Toy Soldiers
  7. Cellular
  8. The Avengers
  9. Anything Hitchcock
  10. Ghost

What is your top ten? Share with me in the comments!

25 Comments

Filed under Writing

25 responses to “Top Ten Movie Countdown Blogfest

  1. Love Sixth Sense, too. The Avengers (*fans self*) is a joy to watch. Also a huge fan of Die Hard.

  2. Hitchcock… was genius!

  3. Loving the attention Sixth Sense is getting today. Awesome list! πŸ™‚

  4. The Sixth Sense is such a great film, and when I saw it in the cinema I didn’t see the end coming. Back to the Future, Die Hard and The Avengers – I love your list.

  5. The Sixth Sense gave me nightmares!

  6. Avengers was on my list!
    Thanks for participating in my blogfest.

  7. I loved Fried Green Tomatoes and Tootsie. But Ghost and The Sixth Sense would probably make it on mine too.

  8. 3 of your are on my list. Cellular was a great movie and as was toy soldiers.

  9. Avengers and Die Hard are in my top three!! And this blog hopping makes me want to update my own list….I have always loved Hitchcock’s “Rope”.

  10. Some great picks. I was so in love with Bruce Willis after Die Hard. And Sixth Sense has to be one of the best “I didn’t see that coming” movies. Enjoyed your list! Such a fun blogfest.

  11. I think you cheated a bit on number nine but I understand. I could have filled my entire list with Hitchcock films. I couldn’t include Sixth Sense on my list because I only picked movies I watch over and over. The beauty of Sixth Sense was in the impact of the ending and I fear repeated viewings
    would dilute that.

    • That’s true but he’s (M.Night Shyamalan) also a director into symbolism. I love watching it for that. I catch things I missed all the time.

  12. Just dropping by from the blog hop. While our lists don’t really overlap I can certainly appreciate your picks. :3

  13. Yep, I chose The Sixth Sense too πŸ™‚ I love Back to the Future, Ghost and Die Hard too πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

