IWSG – The Sounds of Silence


InsecureWritersSupportGroup  Purpose: To share and encourage. Writers can express doubts and concerns without fear of appearing foolish or weak. Those who have been through the fire can offer assistance and guidance. It’s a safe haven for insecure writers of all kinds! (Our Twitter hashtag is #IWSG)

Alex J. Cavanaugh’s awesome co-hosts for the April 3 posting of the IWSG are Annalisa Crawford, Elsie, and Julie Luek!

I’m currently on final revisions of a novel before sending it back to the agent. The revision process is one I love and always have but there’s something about expectation that places this huge cloud over my writing abode. Suddenly, I question every move I make, in triplicate, until I’m more confused than after I read the first draft and found it a pile of doo. There is another huge difference when I’m revising, and it didn’t occur to me until this stage. When suddenly I’m facing a gatekeeper’s expectations and the stakes are high, I have never feared letting my reader down more. At this crucial moment, something is missing. There’s been a void during the process, and I couldn’t figure out what it was. Then, in one of those light bulb moments, after arguing with myself over a section of dialogue, it hit me.

After years with these people, these wonderful crazy people in my head, they are suddenly silent. During other revision periods, they hung in there arguing with me. This time it’s like they are content to let me make the decisions. Either, they think I’ve gotten it right or it’s beyond hope. Yikes!  Simon and Garfunkle were right, “Silence like a cancer grows.”

What are your insecure moments during revision?

4 Comments

Filed under Writing

4 responses to “IWSG – The Sounds of Silence

  1. I’m with you on the fear of disappointing a reader. I think all writers go through the ‘doubt’ phase. Shows you care. That’s a good thing.

  2. I’m always afraid that no matter how many times I look at it, I’ll always find another mistake. It’s a never-ending cycle, so figuring out when to let it go is the hardest part for me.

    I didn’t do IWSG this month thanks to my own editing and the A to Z challenge, but I wanted to check in on some of my fellow participants!

Leave a Reply

