What’s Up, Wednesday?


ButtonSmallNoBorderWhat am I reading? (Yes, I’m avoiding writing for the moment) I’m reading Her Last Breath by Linda Carillo. I finished Heather Gudenkauf’s One Breath Away, and it was amazing. It looks like I have a thing for books with breath in the title, doesn’t it?

Now, about last week’s goal on the Ready. Set. Write Challenge… I’m happy to report that I completed the three chapter revisions that I needed to do this week in spite of an amazing number of interruptions. They were hard-fought for but completed, and it allows me to move on to the next section. YEAH!!! Phew.

My goal for this next week is more complicated. (Cause why not, right?) I want to complete three more chapter rewrites AND complete another section of my series bible. I completed a section this last week, and it wasn’t even on my goal list. 🙂 Yeah, me! We’re not going to think about all the company here this week or our boys coming this weekend…nope, not going there. I will get these things done even if it’s 2 a.m. Where there’s a will…

At the end of the week, I may look like this:

Maia

Maia

How did you do this week?

4 Comments

Filed under Writing

4 responses to “What’s Up, Wednesday?

  1. OMG! Your kitty is so cute. 🙂

    Breath books? Maybe it’s a theme. I’m reading a lot of similarly themed books as well — books by the same author, books in the same genre, etc.

    What’s a series bible?

    • That is my grandpet. 🙂

      That is an excellent question. I had it too and went to a session at the Romantic Times conference to find out. It’s for people who write multiple books in a series. It allows you to keep things consistent. It’s amazing out easy it can be to mess things up. I even changed the spelling of a character’s name halfway through a book once. Some people do them hard copy in binders and some prefer electronic using Word or Scrivener. I’m enjoying putting the bible together as I revise. It’s helping me catch any discrepancies. 🙂

      • That’s a really good idea. I know I’ve spotted inconsistencies in some series I’ve read before — in one, a “she” referenced early on became a “he” later. A series bible seems like a good way to keep track of little things like that — even the way you spell words like “gray” vs. “grey.”

      • Exactly. Or t-shirt which can also be spelled T-shirt and I had spelled both ways in a novel. A CP of mine spells grey and I spell gray so those are all things that are helpful to keep straight in bibles. It’s been fun finding the best way to do a bible for me. I’m starting with a hard copy but I also have a backup electronic copy. Not that I’m paranoid…

Leave a Reply

