Chai Tea Lattes, Chocolate, and Making Connections


FollowFest These events are so much fun and I’m eternally grateful to those who sponsor them. In this case, I’d like to thank Melissa Maygrove for her hard work in putting this awesome Follow Fest together. Make sure you visit her blog and follow her, if you don’t already. She’s a wealth of information and entertaining to boot.

Purpose: A platform building opportunity for writers of all kinds.

When: September 23rd thru 27th.

How: Create a blog post using the guide provided and sign up on the Linky list for the day you plan to post. There will be a separate Linky list for each day.

It’s not to late for you to participate. You officially have until 11:59 PM CDT on Thursday, September 26th to sign up for the last Linky (Friday’s).

Name: Dawn Allen

Fiction or nonfiction? Fiction

What genres do you write? Young Adult and Adult, Science Fiction, Mystery, and Thriller

Are you published? My short stories have been publishes, but my novels are in the query stage.

Do you do anything in addition to writing? I’m a college professor.

Twitter
Facebook
Goodreads (personal)
LinkedIn
Pinterest
I’m a member of Oklahoma Writer’s Federation, Inc. and serving as Conference Chair in 2013-2014.

I’m the president of Novel Clique, a critique group, with Natasha Hanova and Leatrice McKinney.

 
49 Comments

Filed under Writing

49 responses to “Chai Tea Lattes, Chocolate, and Making Connections

  1. Hi Dawn!

    Good luck with Follow Fest! You sound like my kinda writer…;~)
    I generally write picture books but also have a YA mystery and a YA fantasy novella in the works…

    I am host of WRITERLY WISDOM WEDNESDAYS on my blog where authors, agents, and illustrators provide guest posts on everything regarding the writing and publishing industry. Come by some time and join the fun!

    Take care,

    Donna L Martin

  2. Science fiction, mystery, and thrillers. Sound like a great combination. I’ll be following you as soon as I get home from work tonight.

    BTW, I teach chemistry at night at a local college, which means I have even less time for writing than I’d wish.

    • I hear you! Before I left the city, I was teaching high school during the day and teaching college at night and weekends. My writing suffered. Keep up the good work. While I liked science, I suspect I could use your expertise with my sci-fi. 🙂 Have a great day!

  3. Nice to meet you! And here’s wishing you tons of luck with querying.

  4. My novels are also in the query stage — keep on keepin’ on! Following you now on Twitter, FB, and Goodreads.

  5. melissamaygrove

    Thanks for participating in Follow Fest! 🙂

  6. Wow, it sounds like you keep really busy. It’s lovely to meet you and I look forward to getting to know you better.

  7. Hey Dawn, welcome to Follow Fest! It’s great to meet you. Congrats on having MULTIPLE novels in queries – that’s pretty damn impressive 🙂

  8. Nice to meet you through the follow fest, Dawn. I also write YA (amongst other things).

  9. Nice to meet you, Dawn! I’m also a horse lover (as you mentioned on Goodreads), though I married a city boy and have to indulge my love in fictional ways only these days (darned city ordinances won’t let me keep a steed in the garage).

    • Ah, Laurel. I did the opposite. I’m a city girl who married a country guy. 🙂 Now, I get to indulge my horse fantasy all the time. You can come visit ours. 🙂

  10. A college professor?! That’s super cool. What do you teach?

  11. Mmmmm… chai tea and chocolate. 🙂

  12. Hi Dawn! Nice to meet you through this Follow Fest. I’ll go check out your links.

  13. Great to meet you! I work in a college library and love the academic setting.

    Good luck with your queries! Looking forward to following you here and elsewhere.

  14. Visiting from Follow Fest. Very nice to meet you.

    Best of luck with your writing and queries!

  15. Hi Dawn! Good to meet you through Follow Fest! All the best on your writing endeavors!

  16. Great to meet you through Follow Fest! I’m also interested in writing for the YA genre. Looking forward to following your writing journey.

  17. Congrats on your publications, and good luck in attaining an agent. It’s nice to meet you. 🙂 Nancy LaRonda Johnson

  18. This blog hop is incredible!Thanks to it, i’ve learned about a lot of interesting authors and those who are aspiring to be authors!Glad we could connect!I too found out about this hop through Natasha!

  19. Nice to meet you, Dawn. I’ve been making my way around and found you through another participant in the hop.

    J.L. Campbell writes Jamaican Kid Lit

  20. Hello, Dawn, nice to meet you!

  21. Hi, Dawn. What do you teach? I taught upper level Psychology for a year as a part-time professor while working a full-time job.

    • Hi Judith! I teach Comp I & II. I’ve done the FT job and PT professor thing also. I admire you because I know what that took. I’m glad it’s over for me. Now, I just teach at the college PT. 🙂

  22. Hi Dawn.
    I know that I’m rather late here at your place. The Follow Fest is done and dusted. Over.
    Well, I didn’t get to sign up for the fest… missed the boat…
    Why am I here? On the linky list, I noticed that you write mystery.
    I’d like to think that I’m a mystery/suspense writer. But just recently I placed second in a blogfest which required a kissing scene… so I’m actually unsure which genre I belong to… and as a fairly new writer (just under 3 years writing fiction), I’m still working it out anyway… LOL
    Maybe a multi-genre writer? Wouldn’t that be nice? Who knows?
    Anyway, it’s nice to meet you.
    I’m off to see your “follow” options.
    Writer In Transit

    • Michelle,
      Good to meet you. Perhaps you are a burgeoning romantic suspense writer which blends both the kisses and the mystery. 🙂 I have loved mysteries/thrillers/suspense since I was a kid and discovered Nancy Drew. Yes, I’m that old. Sigh. Best of luck in your journey.

  23. Hi Dawn. I’m catching up from follow fest–nice to meet you!
    ~Skye

  24. Hi Dawn – I’m finally stopping by after the FF, getting caught up on all the posts I didn’t read back then. 🙂 I love all the genres you listed, though have only really written one mystery-ish novel, and maybe 1.5 sci-fi novels (the .5 is part of a sort of “sci-fantasy” novel). Anyway, it was good to visit here!

  25. Thanks for stopping by, Trisha! You’re in my genre loves. We could talk shop any day. 🙂

Leave a Reply

