Creepy Kids, Demons, and Things that Go Bump in the Night


window_and____by_ahmetkasimNovel Clique posed the question of fictional fears this week. I struggled with this one. I have plenty of real fears but fictional ones was a different thing altogether. Then, it came back to me. I was a freshmen in college when I went to see The Omen. I had no concerns about attending. That should have been my first red flag. I’m still haunted by that film. That kid creeped me out like no other. I had nightmares for months. I’m not kidding. He was beyond terrifying. The thing about my fictional fears is the more real they are the more terrifying. Most horror films leave me flat or laughing. There isn’t anything too scary about them. But Damien, this child possessed by the devil, was far too realistic for me.

I don’t like demons because I believe they exist as I believe evil exists. I don’t worry about the undead. They don’t exist. However, the guy in my neighborhood on the sexual predator list whose danger level is unknown terrifies me. It’s the unknown, unexpected, unprepared for that reduces me to a sniveling coward. So, they may technically be fictional, but for me they are terrifyingly real. No Damien in this household. Not even with the lights on.

What are your fictional fears? Share below and then pop over to see what L.L. McKinney and Natasha Hanova‘s are.

6 Comments

Filed under Writing

6 responses to “Creepy Kids, Demons, and Things that Go Bump in the Night

  1. I hear you! I won’t go near movies like that because I know demons exist and. . .*shiver* It’s just too close for comfort. All other horror movies are no big deal, but no demons. Nope.

  2. Yikes. I never saw the Omen and now I REALLY don’t want to. I hear you, though. The fictional fears are the hardest to shake.

  3. I never saw the Omen, but I’m sure it would’ve creeped me out. Possessed kids are never good!

    • I know. They are just creepy! I’ve never rewatched it out of fear. It might not scare me like it did when I was younger but I’m not taking the chance. 🙂

  4. Real-life horrors are always the worst.

Leave a Reply

