Writing, Reading, and Racing…What a Week!


The Amazing Race has been a huge success. It’s been a joy to be a part of writers paying it forward. Those of us writing today know that this job is tough and full of rejection. The one thing that is a gift to us is that writers are so giving with each other. I’d like to thank Angela Ackerman and Becca Puglisi for organizing this and giving us all an opportunity to give back and have the opportunity to recieve help from other writers. It’s not like they have nothing else to do…just check out their site to see all the books they’ve put together for…you guessed it, writers. Thanks to all the writers who participated. It’s been great fun.

I’m still managing to write every day even if it’s just a few words (on days I teach). It’s keeping me more consistent and on a schedule. I have really missed that during the last year while we were in “transition”. Hopefully, real progress will happen from now on.

My reading has been off during the move. Instead of trying to read fiction which would get interrupted for constant furniture trips, I’ve been reading craft books. They never disappoint. I’m hoping to get back to some hot fiction soon. In the meantime, I’m doing a second read through of Noah Lukeman’s The First Five Pages. It’s reminding me of the reasons I liked it the first time. If you haven’t read it, you should.

2 Comments

Filed under Writing

2 responses to “Writing, Reading, and Racing…What a Week!

  1. Thanks for the recommendation! I just clicked through the link to order my own copy 🙂 And you’re so right about other writers’ generosity – one of the best things about starting a blog and being active online has been getting to know other writers.

    • Glad you got a copy. Let me know how you like it. A lot of it is reminders for us of things we already know and some of it is amazing to me because it goes inside an editor’s head as to what is most important while reading a manuscript.

Leave a Reply

