NaNoWriMo or Bust? Not so much…


crest-bda7b7a6e1b57bb9fb8ce9772b8faafbI’m a NaNoWriMo veteran, but I made the determination that even though I succeeded, it wasn’t for me. I absolutely was NOT doing it again. No way. Recently, Rebekah Loper, a Municipal Liaison for National Novel Writing Month, did a guest post titled Five Reasons Why You Should do NaNoWriMo on my CP, Natasha Hanova’s blog. Rebekah was quite convincing.  However, I just finished intensive revisions of my YA novel, and I’m in the middle of rewrites of my adult thriller so it really isn’t a good time for me. Though the temptation to NaNo is great, I’m not starting a new  project. Yet.

So, like my CP Leatrice McKinney said in her NaNo, NaNo, it’s off to Write I go! post, I’ll NaNo my way by working on the rewrites of my thriller. Dedicating myself to a goal of writing every day rather than meeting a certain word count. I plan to write every day in November like I did in October with one exception, I tried to also blog, grade essays, do lesson plans, laundry, etc. while writing every day. I can’t keep that pace up because I managed only to get behind in October. So, I have to cut some things back, and the blog is one of them. Rather than write a post each week in November, I’ll post something inspiring (I hope) for all of those NaNoing. I’ll continue my writing of posts again in December. I’m about a third of the way through The Drought of Sam Dakota with a significant amount of rewriting to go, but I think I can make it.

NaNo, here we go.

4 Comments

Filed under Writing

4 responses to “NaNoWriMo or Bust? Not so much…

  1. Good luck with your rewrites!! Any words of inspiration or even some hope will be MUCH appreciated… 😉 Also, I think that honoring the spirit of NaNoWriMo, and writing every day, is just as good as writing something new 🙂

  2. Thanks, Liz! Take it a day at a time and try not to freak. It can get overwhelming if you let it. Amazingly, it’s not hard to get there. We set a word count per day that would get us there. If we didn’t make it one day, we added to our count the next day. Cheering you on!

  3. Yep, I’m doing something similar. Instead of doing something totally new, I’m writing new words for all my unfinished projects – blogs, devotionals, and short stories as well as 3 or 4 novels in progress. It’s insane and wouldn’t recommend it for everyone, but it’s what I have to do this year. Good luck on your thriller and I hope you can get some laundry done as well. Best, Carol O.

    • It sounds productive to me. I nearly always have more than one project going at once so I get what you’re saying. Right now, I have agents waiting so I have to kick it in the slats on this one piece and NaNo provides me an opportunity to focus. I’ll keep up on your progress. Best of luck going forward!

Leave a Reply

