Inspiration, Sunsets, and Musical Memories


When writers get stalled, (never say blocked) there are a wealth of ways to regenerate. A lot depends on what stalled us. Was it the latest rejection? Maybe it was fifth unsuccessful rewrite of that problem chapter. Or that horrid 3/4 of the way through the novel when for absolutely no reason, the characters in your head shut up. Maybe it’s frustration from interruptions to your writing schedule which are keeping you off kilter. What can writer’s do for inspiration in these times? I’ve been there a bit more often than I care to in the last couple of years so I thought I’d share the ways I found to break free.

1. Nature: I’m a city kid now living in rural America. I have rediscovered the awesome of sunrises and sunsets. It became a “quiet” time for me to just stand and embrace the beauty of the sun coming or going.

2. Exercise: It isn’t something many people associate with inspiration, but exercise gets blood flowing and the heart ramped up and endorphins flowing. I have to keep a recorder on the treadmill because invariably, an idea struck in mid-stride.

3. Passion: Writing is no doubt your passion; it is for most writers. However, once writing becomes a job – passion doesn’t come up so much. It’s a job. It won’t feel fun anymore. There will still be moments of joy and exhilaration, but it is no longer a hobby. It now requires things of you. That is never fun.

4. Read: Don’t forget to continue reading. Read whatever you can get your hands on. You can’t write and improve your writing without experiencing others.

5. Music: Some writers write in silence, others write with music. Whether you write with music or not, keep music in your life. Music is like all forms of art. It offers inspiration in a host of ways. What do you use to find inspiration?
Follow my blog with Bloglovin

4 Comments

Filed under Writing

4 responses to “Inspiration, Sunsets, and Musical Memories

  1. I totally agree with the exercise option. I have some really good ideas when out running, especially during long races. Of course I’d be lying if I said TV and cinema aren’t also huge rip-off options… erm, I mean sources of information.

    Nice post, thanks.

  2. Good article, Dawn! All these are great suggestions! 🙂

Leave a Reply

