Basket Wars, Chocolate, and Looking Ahead!


OWFIbadgeThe months flew past as they tend to do, and all the plans and preparations are done. It’s a lot of hard work, but the pay off will be an amazing three days. Things will happen that we didn’t account for (we’re sadly human after all) and other things will go even better than we hoped.

I spent my last day before I leave for OKC finishing last-minute things – a conference feedback form, last-minute emails, and last minute tweaks to the schedule. The world is starting to spin a bit too fast, and I need to take a minute to sit back and breathe. Except, the basket isn’t finished. We have Basket Wars which raise money for scholarships for attendees who need financial assistance. Our group basket is all about the keynote speaker in 2015, Les Edgerton. That’s right! I am beyond excited to say that Les will be at OWFI in May 2015. Start planning your trip now! Les Edgerton

Les was kind enough to autograph and send us copies of some of his books for the basket. I set a beach theme and added Starbucks, Post It notes, chocolate(of course), and a couple of freebies to surprise. Midwest Pen and Ink/Novel Clique is excited to offer this. I wonder if there’s a ruled against trying to win your own basket…

My post usually goes up on Thursday, but I will be busy setting up for us to welcome writers, editors, agents, and other publishing professionals to our great state. If you aren’t able to make it this year, start planning now. Les and I WANT to see you in 2015!

DawnAllenSig

 

Related Links:

Oklahoma Writers’ Federation, INC 2014

Les Edgerton on Writing

 

 

 

8 Comments

Filed under Writing

8 responses to “Basket Wars, Chocolate, and Looking Ahead!

  1. Conferences are so much fun and your basket sounds awesome! Hope you had a good time.

  2. Arlee Bird

    Someday I hope to make it to a conference somewhere. OK City would be nice. Thanks for stopping by my blog during Blitz day.

    Lee
    Why I love WordPress bloggers
    Tossing It Out

  3. I love conferences. Glad it went well based on your comments.

Leave a Reply

