Follow Fest


FollowFest 2014Blog hops are a lot of fun and a great way to meet other writers. (Misery loves company) Check out this one sponsored by Melissa Maygrove. Join us for the fun.

Purpose: A platform building opportunity for writers of all kinds.
(Think, ‘cyber meet-and-greet with social media links for business cards.’)

When: September 22nd thru 26th, 2014.

How: Create a blog post using the guide provided and sign up on the Linky list any day during FollowFest week, after your post goes live.

During the week of the fest, visit other blogs and connect with as many writers as you wish.

You can follow the progress by checking this page and / or following the Twitter hashtag #FollowFest14.

Name: Dawn Allen

Fiction or nonfiction? Fiction

What genres do you write?  YA Sci-Fi and paranormal, Adult Thrillers

Are you published? Yes

Do you do anything in addition to writing? I’m a college professor.

Tell us a little about yourself. I own horses and a dog. My boys are two of my favorite people. I’m from the Kansas City area but moved to a ranch in southwestern Kansas and split my time between there and Alva, OK where we work
 
What are you reading right now?  Safe House by Andrew Vachss

Which authors influenced you the most? Mark Twain, Harper Lee, Stephen King, and Les Edgerton.
Where can people connect with you?

Blog: www.dawnall.wordpress.com

Twitter: Miserwriter

Facebook: Author Dawn Allen

Goodreads (personal): Dawn Allen

Google+ Dawn Allen

LinkedIn: Profile
Pinterest: Dawn

Is there anything else you’d like us to know? I belong to Novel Clique, a critique group and I’m President of Oklahoma Writer’s Federation, Inc. Both groups love to give back and help other writers.

*Don’t forget to go sign up with Linky after your blog post goes live.

48 Comments

Filed under Writing

48 responses to “Follow Fest

  1. lesedgerton

    Dawn, you make me blush! Thank you so much–I’m hugely honored!

  2. Hi Dawn, hopping over from Follow Fest! Looking forward to following you!

  3. I’m jealous of your farm life! I’m a country mouse stuck in the city. 😛

    Thanks for taking part in Follow Fest, Dawn. 🙂

  4. Nice to meet you, Dawn. I’d love to have a horse, though I haven’t ridden in quite a long time. Philly is more horse-friendly than some cities, but boarding is still pretty pricey.

    • Hi, Laurel! I moved here from the city and it was that way there. Here we own the land so we now have around 30 horses roaming and grazing. I enjoy them so much. If you’re ever down this way, we’ll show you the lay of the land and go riding.

  5. Good to meet you 🙂 I’m loving this Follow Fest – not least for all the great information I’m being exposed to.

  6. Nice to meet another paranormal and thriller writer!

    Most of the horses around where I live are used for gather sap during sugaring season–and for pulling wagons and buggies when people get married. I live next to a covered bridge. Watching teams going through it, is really like stepping back in time.

    • Oh, wow! That sounds awesome. I love that whole step back in time thing. Horses are the best way to get into some of the back pastures. Our ranch is more hilly than flat and while four wheel drive works most places, it does not work in all.

  7. I think it’s so cool that you live on a farm! Nice to bumping into you again and best of luck to you and your writing!

  8. Hi Dawn! You’re a former NaNoWriMo participant I see. Will you be doing it again this year?

    • I wasn’t sure if I would. I had some writing goals I had to meet and I was on the fast track to NOT meet them. However, I decided I was going to keep an open mind. If when I get there, I’m free to pursue it again, I’ll jump in with both feet. How about you?

  9. Oh your novels sound really good! I lived around farms growing and always loved to help out. I love horses!

    • Where were you raised? I enjoy the country life so much. The horses are like my kids…and I do spoil them. Shhh. Don’t tell.

      • I was born and raised in Northeast Indiana. Corn country! My parents moved from the city to the country when I was 4. I loved every minute of it. So many adventures!

  10. I’m with you on Stephen King being a big influence – in both my reading and writing life. 🙂

  11. I used to live in Kansas, over in the Flint Hills of Emporia. Nice to meet you.

    • Awesome! I trek past Emporia every time I go home to see my folks and back again to come home. I love the Flint Hills. People who don’t live in Kansas talk about how flat it is but the bulk of the state is not flat. Just the part people have to trek through to get to Colorado. 🙂

  12. Hi Dawn, so wonderful to meet you and get to learn more about you through this Follow Fest. I wish I owned a horse, although my horseback riding skills are very lacking.

    • With the right horse, your skills don’t have to be perfect. One of the things we pride ourselves on is raising horses with calm and sweet demeanors. All horses can be startled, of course, but there are some mean and unreliable ones also. We avoid the latter. 🙂

  13. Hopping over from Follow Fest -it’s great to meet you! 🙂

  14. It’s wonderful to meet you. I’m so thankful for this blogfest as I loved reading all about you!

  15. Nice to meet you Dawn. I love horses, wish I had one. I used to ride as a teen. Your books are right up my alley!!

    • Thanks for stopping by. I rode my whole life because my uncle had a farm but I didn’t spend a lot of time with horses until I married my hubby. City girl marries farm boy…sounds like a Harlequin romance, huh? LOL Your book sounds awesome, too!

  16. Nothing beats country life. We could probably get a lot of writing done if we currently lived in the country. Glad we stopped by! Nice to meet you.

  17. I’m something of a city girl stuck out in the country, but enjoying my time here. Wow, horses and college prof. What fun stuff! My husband and I are both teachers. So glad to meet you through Follow Fest!

    • Love to meet other teachers! I’m enjoying my time in the country also. Some people only experience one or the other. I’m happy to have been able to do both. Glad to meet you.

  18. You’re the first mid-western writing I’ve met on this Fest! Lovely. My mother’s family was from Kansas, so I have an affinity for that state, not to mention a lot of relatives there.

    • That’s awesome! I love my home state. I have relatives all over the Midwest so I have a tender spot of the middle of the country. Thanks for stopping by.

  19. Loni Townsend

    Great to meet you through Follow Fest! That’s cool you’re a college professor. What subjects?

    • Thanks! I teach a host of humanities classes. Everything from Writing and Literacy to composition classes. Love my job and love working with student writers. 🙂

  20. How cool that you own a horse! Although I understand they are a lot of work. My daughter always wanted one. But I told her our zoo was at full capacity! Nice meeting you through the follow fest.

  21. Thanks for visiting my site during Follow Fest!

  22. I know we’re pretty late but I think we remember you from last year! YA Sci-FI? A total favorite of ours!

  23. Southpaw

    Good to meet you Dawn! I do love a good thriller!

Leave a Reply

