IWSG and What’s Up, Wednesday


Insecure Writer’s Support Group

InsecureWritersSupportGroupPurpose: To share and encourage. Writers can express doubts and concerns without fear of appearing foolish or weak. Those who have been through the fire can offer assistance and guidance. It’s a safe haven for insecure writers of all kinds! (Our Twitter hashtag is #IWSG)

Alex J. Cavanaugh’s awesome co-hosts for the July 3 posting of the IWSG are Nancy Thompson, Mark Koopmans, and Heather Gardner.

Some weeks are hard, some weeks are harder, and some weeks are a virtual walk in the park in comparison to the others. I’ve had a rare good writing week. The writing went well, the editing has been on track, and I’m making forward progress for the first time in months…well, it feels like it anyway. We all need spurts of inspiration that will send us forward when the energy is lagging. This happened for me when one of the creators of one of my favorite TV shows (Early Edition, remember it?) followed me on Twitter. (Shout out to Vik Rubenfeld.) He was ahead of his time, and his show helped spur the many shows that followed later which pursued paranormal themes. Not vampires but more ghostly tales. If you never saw it, check it out. It also launched Kyle Chandler‘s career. Hello, Friday Night Lights.

At any rate, interacting with other writers, especially people whose work you admire is a great way to keep your own fires burning even when your energy ebbs. I’m not saying abandon your writing for social media. I’m just encouraging you to utilize social media effectively. Get to know other writers. Learn from them. Pass it forward to the writers who will one day admire you. Or already do and you don’t know it.

What’s Up Wednesday?

ButtonSmallNoBorderI finished Her Last Breath and now I’m reading Enigma Black. Linda’s book did not disappoint as usual. I’ve just started the other so I’ll update you on it next week. 🙂

I’ve had a crazy week. We had company, and I traveled across Kansas. Somehow, in spite of that I managed to complete a polish of 25 pages for a submission for this week. I also finished three more chapter revisions of The GAP Project. The bible for it is also coming along nicely. I am really pleased with the progress this week so feeling positive, I’m jumping in with ambitious goals for next week. Five chapter rewrites. I can do this. I can. It is totally within the realm of possible because NO ONE is coming to visit, and I’m not traveling. How’s that for positive thinking? How did your week go?

4 Comments

Filed under Writing

4 responses to “IWSG and What’s Up, Wednesday

  1. Pingback: Insecure Writers’ Support Group Day – Focusing On Support! | Joanne Phillips - a writer's journey

  2. Pingback: #IWSG: For the love of the craft | Dahlia Savage

  3. Hi Dawn, you’re right; we all need inspiration. I remember one time I was kicking myself about the lack of followers on my blog and was even considering abandoning it altogether when I got a very rewarding message from someone who had been reading my blog. She said my recent post had been just for her and thanked me for it! It’s so important to talk to other writers because we really all do go through the same things. And social media is the easiest way for us to do that. So glad you had a great writing week and good luck to you!

Leave a comment